Camp Hanes

On Thursday morning I got to school. I was excited about what was coming, getting on the bus to go to Camp Hanes. The bus was pretty nice. People were singing songs and giving out food. And there was even a movie on.  And before we knew it we were at camp.

When we first got to Camp Hanes we dropped our luggage off at the gym. Then we went to the conference room. We got to meet the counselors and they were all extremely nice. To prove it the first thing after they introduced themselves was to let us play four corners and a game called combat master. That was really fun. After we had fun playing our game we settled into our cabins, dropped off our stuff and went to lunch. We had fried chicken with macaroni and cheese and it was really delicious for camp food. After we raced to see who could clean up the fastest ( our advisory got second). After that it was time for the BIG hike.

When our activity group started hiking it seemed pretty normal, just some rocks and branches here and there until we ran into our first obstacle. We had to go up a pretty steep ledge. But we did have a rope. That made me feel a lot better. We then went up and walked for a little bit and then a big steep hill was next. There were rocks all over the place. So I went up and slid a little bit and then I was at the top. It was an incredible view. We were so high up that we could even see Winston-Salem!  It was also kind of scary. But it was a great hike.

Thank you to Camp Hanes for giving me a great experience. I had a lot of fun with friends and had a great time with the activities. There was also really good food and I somewhat overcame my fear of heights. I had a very fun experience and I would definitely come back. Camp Hanes was amazing!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *